The present submission to the Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf
('the Commission') is made by the Federated States of Micronesia, Papua New
Guinea and the Solomon Islands (hereinafter referred to collectively as ‘the three
coastal States’) pursuant to paragraph 8 of Article 76 of the 1982 United Nations
Convention on the Law of the Sea ('the Convention') in support of the establishment
by the three coastal States of the outer limits of the continental shelf that lie beyond
200 nautical miles (M) from the baselines from which the breadth of the territorial
sea of the three coastal States is measured (hereinafter referred to as ‘the territorial
sea baselines’) in the Ontong Java Plateau Region.